Tags

Hi Chantal!

Here is my guide to recording blocks for normal-sized quilts for The 70273 Project

Each block is given a unique name so that it can be recorded into Jeanne’s database.

Here is an example of one I might record: CG1MarieAgneau3

Each block name is created as follows:

1. The initials of the person who is recording the block: CG (Chloe Grice)

2. The number of the block from the maker: 1 (if there is only one block then it is still recorded as 1)

3. The Maker’s name (abbreviated if necessary): MarieAgneau (always le prénom suivi par le nom de famille)

4. The size of the block: 3 (the three block sizes are simplified as either 3, 6 or 9)

When I have a few different blocks from many different makers, I record each block individually by photographing each one separately and attaching a label to each one.

(I actually record and photograph every single block I receive, but this is too much work for everyone to do, so you don’t have to, only use this method when the blocks will be separated and sent for inclusion in different quilts)

Here is a stack of blocks ready to be photographed (The labels in this photo are for Club Patchi Patcha D’Hossegar, which I have abbreviated to CPPH)

Blocks with labels ready.JPG

I always start with the smallest size by each maker, just to be methodical.

Then each block is photographed with the label to one side like this:

Block 1 ready to be photographed.JPGI use my phone to take these photos, because it is quick and easy: I send them to my computer and open them in Preview (on Mac) and re-name them with the exact same info from the label: so this one would be re-named as “CG1CPPH3.jpg”.

I put these into a folder on my desktop with the Maker’s name and I upload them to an online file storage site called Box – you may need to talk to Jeanne about this, it might be easier to email them to her – I’m not sure what Marie Christine does.

Then the label is attached to the front:

Block 1 ready to have label attached.JPG

These labels stay in place until the entire top is pieced and photographed. This photograph can then be printed and used to draw a plan with each block recorded on it: I will send you an example of this if you need one, but it is very straightforward. The easiest way is to trace over the photograph, or you could use a photo editor. Jeanne will use this plan to create the label which will be attached to the back of the quilt, so it is important that it is accurate.

If you have 100 blocks by the same maker and they will all be used in the same quilt, the process is different, because there is no need to photograph each one in this way. Do whatever works best for you, as it is you who will be piecing and quilting, as long as each block is recorded with a unique name.

This is what I have done with tops received already pieced, and it seems to me a simple way to do it.

Here is the photo I took of the top made and pieced by the quilt group in Réunion, Mon Isle En Patch:

Quilt Top- Mon Île En Patch.jpg

Which I cropped and numbered in order starting from the top left corner, creating a unique name for each block…
MIEPTopPlan1.png

So, the top left hand corner block is a small one (3) and it is named ‘CG1MIEP3’ and recorded as ‘CG1MIEP3.jpg’. The second one next to it is the same size so it is ‘CG2MIEP3’ followed by two larger ones which are ‘CG3MIEP6’ and ‘CG4MIEP6’.

Note: In both of these examples, the patchwork groups who created these blocks sent them to me in one big bundle, with no way of knowing which person made which block: hence the group’s name has been used for all of the blocks. Had they been sent (as requested in the instructions) with a Provenance Form attached to each Maker’s set of blocks, then each would have instead been given a name based on this info (as in the above fictitious example of Marie Agneau).

In this example, I printed the photo and simply wrote the order of their numbers on top because I was photographing each one, but you would need to draw up a blank plan, with each block in place and labelled correctly. The finished plan can then be scanned and sent along with the other photos.

Although this is a long drawn out process, it feels vital to me personally that I put as much effort as possible into accurately recording each one of these beautiful blocks as they pass through my hands. Each one represents a person, after all: a human being who was just as carefully examined, sometimes themselves photographed and marked before being so deliberately killed by the Nazis.

There is a comprehensive description for Piecers and Quilters on Jeanne’s blog here too.

Please ask if you have any questions at all! And everyone else who is sharing this task of collecting and recording these blocks, please feel free to comment, either on the Facebook Group page, or here in this blog post, so together we can present our collaboration to the world.

Lots of love, Chloe xx

